Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business

Lyceum Program hosts recognition ceremonies to honor graduating class


Lyceum Scholars (left to right): Jared Uhle (History), Stewart Dalton (Economics) Andrew Hiner (History), Emily Aldmon (Communication), Charlie Prunkl (Economics), Caroline O’ Neal (Political Science, Economics), Dodson Wood (Chemical Engineering), Emma Culberson (Chemical Engineering), Matthew Chisholm (Political Science, Philosophy)
Download image

By Ryan Rogers

On April 8 and 9, 2024, the Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism hosted recognition ceremonies to honor their graduating Lyceum Scholars and Fellows. The Lyceum Program uses a great books approach to studying the moral, political and economic foundations of a free society and, upon completion, fulfills the academic requirements for a political and legal theory minor.

This year’s class, composed of nine Scholars and fifteen Fellows, achieved numerous academic honors while at Clemson University. During the 2023/2024 academic year, Caroline O’Neal won the Marian L. Harris Award in recognition of her superior class performance in the John E. Walker Department of Economics and the Horace Fleming Award in political science. Stewart Dalton was awarded the Harvey J. Wheeler Award, which is presented to the best performing senior in the economics. Lyceum Fellow Raleigh Adams was chosen as a Distinguished Ethics Scholar by Clemson’s Rutland Institute for Ethics and was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa this semester.

In addition to their academic accomplishments and honors, several senior Lyceum Scholars worked tirelessly to publish the third edition of Clemson University’s first student-led humanities and social sciences publication, The Aurantiaco. Andrew Hiner served as Editor of English & History while Caroline O’ Neal served as Editor of Philosophy, Religious Studies and English.

Lyceum Fellows (left to right): Anna Gregory (Political Science), Weston Rupert (Economics), Tiffany Plusnick (Political Science), Blake Mauro (Political Science), JeAnais Mitchell (History),

Not Pictured: Raleigh Adams (Political Science), Harrison Black (Political Science), Maximus Boscaglia (Management), Robert Erwin III (Political Science), Madison Grice (Criminal Justice), Abigail Krasselt (Philosophy), Dylan Miller (Economics), Thomas Potenza (Marketing), Joshua Richardson (Political Science), Christopher Sauerbrey (Performing Arts)

After graduation, several students plan to continue their education at Clemson University. Andrew Hiner and Matthew Chisholm will pursue an M.A. in history and an M.B.A, respectively. Jared Uhle and Anna Gregory will be attending the University of South Carolina School of Law, while Weston Rupert will attend Cumberland School of Law at Samford University. Lyceum Fellow Blake Mauro will write for the Washington Free Beacon and Scholars Emma Culberson and Dodson Wood will begin jobs as engineers. Other Lyceum graduates, such as JeAnais Mitchell, will be entering the workforce in the political sphere.

When asked about this year’s Lyceum Class, Adam Thomas, Ph.D., associate director of the Lyceum Program, said, “This year’s graduating class of Lyceum students, like those before them, earned high academic honors and made notable contributions to our Clemson community. We are very proud of their accomplishments, including the exciting postgraduate opportunities they have secured, and wish them the best as they enter the next stage of life and career.”

About the Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism (CISC)

CISC is America’s premier university-based teaching and research center dedicated to exploring the moral, political and economic foundations of capitalism. Founded in 2005 and housed within Clemson University’s Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business, the independently financed Institute is educating a new generation of students about the moral requirements of a free society through the Lyceum Program.

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at news@clemson.edu

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.