Emeritus College names inaugural class of fellows, honors 18 new 2019-20 members



The Emeritus College honored the inaugural class of its I. Dwaine Eubanks Emeritus College Fellows and 18 new members at a virtual recognition ceremony Aug. 3.

The ceremony was led by Bob Jones, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs; Emeritus College Director Debra Jackson; Faculty Senate President John Whitcomb; Calvin Shoulties, Awards Committee chair; and Advisory Board Chair Joel Greenstein. Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs Amy Lawton-Rauh presented “ClemsonFORWARD: Success and Look to Our Future.”

Ten retired faculty members were honored as I. Dwaine Eubanks Emeritus College Fellows. The award, named for the professor emeritus of Chemistry, who died in 2018, recognizes emeritus faculty members who steadily render valuable service without compensation to the Emeritus College.

“We will always be grateful for Dwaine’s contributions to the College, from the amazing office and faculty workspace to the connections made for emeritus faculty on campus,” Jackson said. “Dwaine was a visionary and we continue his legacy at the Emeritus College through the fellows program named in his honor.”

The new fellows are:

  • Adolph L. Beyerlein, professor emeritus of Chemistry.
  • Harold E. Cheatham, professor emeritus and former dean, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences.
  • Clifton “Chip” Egan, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Performing Arts; former dean, College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities; and interim director of the Emeritus College.
  • Bonnie J. Holaday, professor emerita of Nursing and former dean of the Graduate School.
  • Cecil O. Huey, professor emeritus of Mechanical Engineering and former chair, Emeritus College Advisory Board.
  • Delbert “Del” Kimbler, professor emeritus of Industrial Engineering and member and former chair, Emeritus College Advisory Board.
  • Gary L. Powell, professor emeritus of Genetics and Biochemistry and Emeritus College Advisory Board member.
  • Elaine Richardson, professor emerita of Animal and Veterinary Sciences, director of Academic Success Center and member and former chair, Emeritus College Advisory Board.
  • Dennis “Steve” Stevenson, associate professor emeritus of Computing.
  • Stuart Silvers, professor emeritus of Philosophy.

Also honored at the ceremony were the new 2019-20 Emeritus College members, who represent seven colleges and have a combined 488 years of service to Clemson University:

  • Warren Philip Adams, Mathematical and Statistical Sciences (35 years)
  • Lawrence Robert Allen, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management and dean, College of Health, Education and Human Development (31 years)
  • Wen Yuan Chen, Biological Sciences (23 years)
  • Michael John Dorsch, Marketing (26 years)
  • Georges Michel Fadel, ExxonMobil Employees’ Chaired Professor of Mechanical Engineering (28 years)
  • Larry Franklin Hodges, School of Computing (12 years)
  • Ned Mark Hosler, Music (28 years)
  • Dinah Gail Julian, Librarian (17 years)
  • Frances Anne Kennedy, Accountancy and special assistant to the provost for Academic Quality Improvement (19 years)
  • Thomas James Kuehn, History (39 years)
  • Janis Lynn Miller, Management (30 years)
  • James K. Peterson, Mathematical and Statistical Sciences (30 years)
  • Tina Lynn Robbins, Management (30 years)
  • John H. Rodgers, Forestry and Environmental Conservation and director, Ecotoxicology Program (22 years)
  • Robert James Schalkoff, Electrical and Computer Engineering (35 years)
  • Robert Tad Silance, Architecture (32 years)
  • Thomas James Straka, Forestry and Environmental Conservation (31 years)
  • Geoffrey William Zehnder, Entomology and coordinator, Integrated Pest Management and Sustainable Agriculture programs (20 years)

“We’re very lucky that people had the foresight to see the talent and experience in our retired faculty at Clemson University and decided to make an emeritus college that was impactful and would bring meaning to people’s careers post retirement,” Provost Jones said during the ceremony. “And what a great decision that was, because in my opinion — seeing across the United States and talking with other provosts and presidents — we have the best emeritus college in the country. I’m unaware of any other that comes anywhere close to what Clemson University does.”

A video recording of the ceremony is available online.

Emeritus College virtual presentations

During these unprecedented times, the Emeritus College continues providing a robust virtual presentation schedule. These workshops and seminars have not only been attended by emeritus faculty, but by the greater University community. A list of upcoming and past presentations is available online.

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at news@clemson.edu

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.