College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences

Three Clemson University engineers take home InnoVision awards


Two Clemson University bioengineers and an automotive engineer won awards from InnoVision, a nonprofit that is dedicated to the advancement of innovation and technology in South Carolina.

It was the second consecutive year that three faculty members from the College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences took home awards, including the second consecutive win for the Clemson Composites Center.

College faculty receiving InnoVision awards in 2021 included Martine LaBerge, Naren Vyavahare and Srikanth Pilla.

They received their honors on Nov. 9 during a virtual ceremony.

The honorees and their awards were (listed in the order in which they were announced):

Martine LaBerge, chair of the Department of Bioengineering; Dr. Charles Townes Individual Lifetime Achievement Award. Watch the video.

Elastrin, a company co-founded by Naren Vyavahare, the Hunter Endowed Chair of Bioengineering; Technology Development category. Watch the video.

Clemson Composites Center, founded and directed by Srikanth Pilla, the Jenkins Endowed Professor of Automotive Engineering. Watch the video.

Daniel Noneaker, the college’s associate dean for research, said the awards underscored the strength of the research environment in the college.

“These three awards help shine a light on the high level of talent we have in the college and reaffirms that we are a leader in innovation and entrepreneurship in South Carolina and beyond,” he said. “I offer Dr. Vyavahare, Dr. Pilla and Dr. LaBerge my deepest congratulations on these well-deserved honors.”

Watch the full awards ceremony here.

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.