Student Affairs

Fraternity and Sorority Life to honor inaugural “Pillars of the Community” class in April


The Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life announced today its inaugural class for the “Pillars of the Community.” Among the six recipients are a former Clemson University president, current Board of Trustees chair and two active employees. The “Pillars of the Community” gala is scheduled for 6 p.m. on Saturday, April 22 at the Madren Conference Center.


“We are thrilled to announce this inaugural class of six amazing individuals whose contributions to over 50 years of fraternity and sorority experiences at Clemson are well-documented,” said Gary Wiser, assistant dean of students and director of Fraternity and Sorority Life. “Their impact extends to the University and local community as well, and we look forward to recognizing these individuals for their service to Clemson during our April gala.” 

James F. Barker

James F. Barker was the 14th president in Clemson University history, serving in the role from 1999-2013. During his tenure, Clemson was consistently ranked one of the nation’s top 25 public universities by U.S. News & World Report. The Clemson University International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR) and the Clemson University Restoration Institute (CURI) were developed during his presidency as well. Prior to his time as president, Barker served as dean of architecture from 1986-99. Barker was a member of Delta Kappa Alpha (now Alpha Tau Omega) and graduated from Clemson in 1970.

Bobby Clark

Bobby Clark is director of procurement and vendor management with Clemson Computing and Information Technology (CCIT). He was chosen to lead the Business, Procurement and Legal Advisory Committee for Internet2, a community providing a secure high-speed network, cloud solutions, research support and other services tailored for research and education. At Clemson, Clark was a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and earned his undergraduate degree in computer science in 1988. He is a longtime adviser for Alpha Phi Alpha. Clark — who has worked at Clemson for over 30 years in a number of IT support roles — was a member of the President’s Leadership Institute in 2018.

Amanda H. Hays is an assistant vice president in Clemson’s Division of Student Affairs. She is responsible for the direction and supervision of two departments, Campus Reservations and Events and the Center for Student Leadership and Engagement. As part of her role, Hays has been an integral part of the coordinating team for University commencement and doctoral hooding. She was a member of Alpha Chi Omega and served as vice president and ultimately president of the College Panhellenic Council before graduating from Clemson in 1991. She began working at her alma mater in the areas of University Housing and Fraternity and Sorority Life. Hays was a member of the President’s Leadership Institute in 2022.

Jerome V. Reel, Jr. served Clemson with distinction as a faculty member, administrator and historian. He began his association with the school in 1963 before earning the dean of undergraduate studies position in 1979. He was promoted to senior vice provost in 1992, a position he held until his retirement in 2003. Reel received the Alumni Master Teacher Award in 1975, was named Honorary Alumni in 2000 and was recognized with the Clemson Medallion — the highest honor conferred by the University — in 2014. He was a longtime adviser for Pi Kappa Alpha. 

Kim Wilkerson serves as the current chair for the Clemson University Board of Trustees and is the first woman to lead the board in school history. She has served as a member of the board since 2010. Wilkerson is president and managing director for Bank of America in South Carolina. She was a member of Delta Delta Delta and graduated from Clemson in 1980. She went on to serve on the Clemson University Foundation Board and Board of Visitors and was a recipient of the Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award in 2011. Wilkerson received the Order of the Palmetto in March, the highest civilian honor awarded in the state of South Carolina.

Mable Wynn

Mable H. Wynn was one of the first African-American faculty members at Clemson. She began teaching dance in 1974 and was part of the faculty in the department of parks, recreation and tourism management for 27 years. Wynn passed away in January 2020 and will be honored posthumously for her contributions to the FSL community. Prior to her death, she was a member of the inaugural board of directors for the Phil and Mary Bradley Early Childhood Education Center, which opened in 2020. She was an advisor for many years for the Clemson chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.