Student Affairs

Center for Student Leadership and Engagement, Fraternity and Sorority Life recognize outstanding students for 2021-22


The Center for Student Leadership and Engagement presented 2021-22 awards to outstanding student leaders in late April at the Madren Conference Center. In addition, the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life and other areas throughout the division honored outstanding students, organizations and leaders.

Twenty-three students were honored as graduates of the Certified Student Leader program. The cohort participated in a nine-week program in which they explored, connected and transformed their personal leadership styles to prepare to make a greater impact on the community.

Division-level winners of annual Student Affairs awards are listed immediately below, followed by awards recently presented by the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life.

Almeda R. Jacks Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award
Presented in honor of Clemson’s former vice president for Student Affairs. It is given to the best “all around” junior or senior who upholds Clemson’s core values, maintains high scholarly achievement and who shows a cross-section of involvement in university departments, clubs or organizations.
2021-22 recipient: Gabe Cutter

R.C. Edwards Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Presented in memory of the longtime president best known for leading Clemson from an all-male military college to a major coeducational and integrated university. It is given to the best “all around” graduate student with high scholarly achievement and someone who contributes to the Clemson community through leadership in university and/or community organizations.
2021-22 recipient: Nicholas Gregorich

Rising Star Award
Presented to a first- or second-year student with a minimum 3.0 GPA who is currently involved in leadership or service activities and is actively pursuing future leadership roles at Clemson University.
2021-22 recipients: Ailee Miner, Blake Summers


Matt Locke Leadership Award
Matthew Jordan

Frank A. Burtner Scholarship
Malik Balogun
Joshua Coleman
Micah Jordan
Trabia McFall

Senior Peer Mentor of the Year: Camryn Hubbard
Mentor of the Year: Auriyana Tinch
Mentee of the Year: Christian Butler

Advisor of the Year
Madeline Filling

Outstanding Commitment to Service
Muslim Students Association

Outstanding Program of the Year
First Friday Parade – Central Spirit

Undergraduate Student Organization of the Year
Grand Challenge Scholars

Graduate Student Organization of the Year
Clemson Mappers


Chapters of the Year
Amanda H. Hays Cup (College Panhellenic Association): Alpha Delta Pi
Dr. Jerome V. Reel, Jr. Cup (Interfraternity Council): Beta Upsilon Chi
Founders Cup (Multicultural Greek Council): Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
Altheia L. Richardson Cup (National Pan-Hellenic Council): Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Members of the Year
College Panhellenic Association: Anna Rhett Allen, Alpha Delta Pi
Interfraternity Council: Noah Ashley, Beta Upsilon Chi
Multicultural Greek Council: Patrick Macalintal, Pi Alpha Phi Fraternity, Inc.
National Pan-Hellenic Council: Jamison Taylor, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.; Aundrea Gibbons, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Order of Omega Awards
Athlete of the Year: Will Marrapodi, Pi Kappa Alpha; Brooke Stride, Alpha Delta Pi
Chapter Advisor of the Year: Dr. Jerome McClendon, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Emerging Leader: Trabia McFall, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
John Robert Clinton Greek Unity Award: Madelyn Stafford, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
New Member of the Year: Spencer Marchant, Chi Phi
Friends of the Greeks Award: Nicole Rife, Clemson University Police Department
Personal Academic Achievement Award: Sophia Hennessy, Pi Beta Phi
Unsung Hero Award: Jamison Taylor, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

FSL University Housing Awards
House Manager of the Year: Jared Salazar, Pi Kappa Alpha; Kaiya Cook, Alpha Delta Pi
Chapter Housing Experience of the Year: Alpha Tau Omega; Pi Beta Phi

FSL Programming Awards
Health and Wellness Program of the Year: Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Program of the Year: Delta Zeta