Student Affairs

Fraternity and Sorority Life recognizes outstanding students and chapters for 2022-23


2023 Fraternity and Sorority Life members of the year
Students recognized as Members of the Year by the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life gather for a photo during the annual awards banquet on April 13, 2023.
Download image

The Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life (FSL) presented 2022-23 awards to outstanding student leaders and organizational chapters on April 13 at the Clemson University Conference Center.

“It’s always great to celebrate the accomplishments of this incredible community,” said Assistant Dean of Students and FSL Director Gary Wiser. “Over the past 10 years, we’ve seen tremendous growth in Fraternity and Sorority Life at Clemson, and these outstanding student leaders are certainly a reflection of that growth.”

In 2022-23, FSL reached 50 active chapters for the first time in its history. Nearly 2,200 new members joined chapters representing the four governing councils. Additionally, all four governing councils recorded cumulative 3.0 grade point averages for the fifth consecutive Fall semester.

Chapters of the Year were identified from each respective governing council. Three of the four earned repeat wins from 2022: Beta Upsilon Chi (Interfraternity Council – IFC), Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc. (Multicultural Greek Council – MGC), and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc (National Pan-Hellenic Council – NPHC). The fourth organization recognized was Kappa Delta, who won the Amanda H. Hays Cup among College Panhellenic Association chapters.

Individually, Members of the Year included CUSG President Malik Balogun (Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.), Pi Alpha Phi Fraternity, Inc. President Marc Barfield, MGC President Kayla Brizuela (Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.), NPHC President Ashanti Elliot (Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.), IFC President Carter Varin (Phi Sigma Kappa) and FSL Wellness Advocate Vice President Sophie Wichlac (Alpha Phi).


Chapters of the Year
Amanda H. Hays Cup (College Panhellenic Association): Kappa Delta
Dr. Jerome V. Reel, Jr. Cup (Interfraternity Council): Beta Upsilon Chi
Founders Cup (Multicultural Greek Council): Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
Altheia L. Richardson Cup (National Pan-Hellenic Council): Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Members of the Year
College Panhellenic Association: Sophie Wichlac, Alpha Phi
Interfraternity Council: Carter Varin, Phi Sigma Kappa
Multicultural Greek Council (female): Kayla Brizuela, Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
Multicultural Greek Council (male): Marc Barfield, Pi Alpha Phi Fraternity, Inc.
National Pan-Hellenic Council (female): Ashanti Elliott, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
National Pan-Hellenic Council (male): Malik Balogun, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Order of Omega Awards
Athlete of the Year: Cary Jackson, Gamma Phi Beta
Chapter Advisor of the Year: Bobby Clark, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
John Robert Clinton Greek Unity Award: Kamora Johnson, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
New Member of the Year: Harrison Langpaul, Pi Kappa Alpha
Friends of the Greeks Award: Dr. Lori Pindar, Department of Communication
Personal Academic Achievement Award: Nana Kim, Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
Unsung Hero Award: Riley Dowling, Alpha Delta Pi

FSL University Housing Awards
House Manager of the Year: MacKenzie Perez, Zeta Tau Alpha
Chapter Housing Experience of the Year: Alpha Chi Omega

FSL Programming Awards
Health and Wellness Program of the Year: Phi Sigma Kappa
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Program of the Year: Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.