College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences

Faculty members honored for excellence in teaching, research and service


Seven faculty members received awards from the College of Engineering, Computing, and Applied Sciences in an Oct. 11 celebration at the Owen Pavilion on the shores of Lake Hartwell.

Honorees were: Thomas Sharkey, Emily Tucker, Divya Srinivasan, Guo Freeman, Lin Zhu, Kasra Sardashti, and Brian Powell.

Faculty members honored Oct. 11 include (from left to right): Thomas Sharkey, Divya Srinivasan, Emily Tucker, Guo Freeman, Lin Zhu, Kasra Sardashti and Brian Powell.

Their family, friends, and colleagues came together to help celebrate the awards.

“The faculty members who have received awards today are playing a central role in creating an unparalleled student experience, increasing research and transforming lives throughout South Carolina and beyond,” said Anand Gramopadhye, the college’s dean. “Their brilliance, creativity and hard work are the heart and soul of the college. I offer each honoree my wholehearted congratulations.”

Here’s more on each award in the order in which it was presented:

Murray Stokely Award
Winner: Thomas Sharkey, professor of industrial engineering
About the award: Given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching engineering at the undergraduate and/or graduate level.

Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching
Winner: Emily Tucker, assistant professor of industrial engineering
About the award: Recognizes excellence in teaching at the undergraduate and/or graduate level with an emphasis on the previous two years and is reserved for faculty members with fewer than seven years in higher education.

McQueen Quattlebaum Faculty Achievement Award
Winner: Divya Srinivasan, professor of industrial engineering
About the award: Recognizes faculty accomplishments in the preceding year and distinctions and awards over the past three years.

Collaboration Award
Winners: Lin Zhu, professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Kasra Sardashti, assistant professor of physics and astronomy
About the award: Recognizes a team of two or more faculty who have demonstrated exemplary and synergistic collaboration in research and/or teaching which has made notable contributions to the college.

Junior Researcher of the Year
Winner: Guo Freeman, associate professor in the School of Computing
About the award: Recognizes the efforts of high-achieving faculty whose work is improving society through the generation and dissemination of new knowledge.

Esin Gulari Leadership and Service Award
Winner: Brian Powell, professor of environmental engineering and Earth sciences
About the award: Recognizes college faculty who undertake leadership and service roles that require selfless commitment to time and effort.

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.