Community, Engagement, Belonging and Access

Call for nominations: Martin Luther King Jr. Awards for Excellence in Service


Five people stand on a stage in front of a Clemson University banner
Clemson University president Jim Clements and Chief Diversity Officer Lee Gill pose with the recipients of the 2020 MLK Excellence in Service Awards – staff member Deon Legette, student Kinsey Meggett, and community member Macy Tannery Weaver (representing Mary Tannery) – at Clemson’s National Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebration in the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts.

The President’s Office will present the Martin Luther King Jr. Awards for Excellence in Service at the 39th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration on Tuesday, January 19, 2021.

Three awards are given annually in these categories:

  • Clemson University student (Undergraduate or graduate)
  •  Clemson University employee (Faculty or staff)
  • Clemson Area community member (Anderson, Oconee or Pickens counties)

Faculty and staff are invited to nominate deserving individuals who exhibit excellence in service in one or more of the following areas:

  • Service to Clemson University or the surrounding community
  • Advocacy for social or environmental justice
  • Service above and beyond direct employment

Dr. King’s definition of the “Beloved Community” will be helpful in considering your nominations. He said it is “a community inclusive of all people, regardless of race, gender, class, ethnicity … a community that recognizes people as individuals first, each with a unique set of life experiences that shapes their particular perspectives … a community where varied perspectives are brought together in a collective effort to achieve goals for the common good.”

The awards are presented each year through a collaboration between the President’s Office and the Division of Inclusion and Equity.

The recipient of the student award will receive a $500 cash stipend. Other winners will be able to direct a grant of $500 to the campus or community organization of the recipient’s choice. Each will also receive a personal plaque and be recognized on a permanent plaque showing past winners.

Nominations should be submitted by using the online nomination form no later than Dec. 11, 2020.

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.