Student Affairs

Undergraduate Student Government celebrates 2018-19 at awards banquet


CLEMSON — Members of Clemson Undergraduate Student Government (CUSG) came together one final time to celebrate the 2018-19 academic year, hand out awards and inaugurate the incoming student body president, vice president and attorney general. The banquet took place Thursday evening inside the President’s Suite at Memorial Stadium.

Logan Young (L) and Andrew Kwasny speak to members of Clemson Undergraduate Student Government in Memorial Stadium on April 11, 2019.
Logan Young and Andrew Kwasny were inaugurated as student body president and vice president, respectively, during Thursday’s CUSG awards banquet.

Jonathan Gundana — who served as activities director for CUSG this year — served as master of ceremonies. He thanked the entire makeup of CUSG for the work the organization has put in during the 2018-19 term.

“From the numerous events that were put on to our efforts to advocate for the entire student body, CUSG has continued to be a staple of student involvement here on campus,” Gundana said. “Tonight, we are here to celebrate our achievements and hard work.”

The first order of business was the inauguration of new leadership for the 2019-20 academic year. Dae’Shawn Scott, outgoing attorney general, led Logan Young (president), Andrew Kwasny (vice president) and Erik Cartledge (attorney general) through the swear-in ceremony, which included the following oath.

“I do solemnly swear to faithfully fulfill the duties of this office and uphold the tenets of the constitutional bylaws of Clemson University to the best of my ability.”

Aunay Miller (L) and Mason Foley at the 2019 CUSG awards banquet.
Aunay Miller was named Cabinet Member of the Year by CUSG President Mason Foley. She served as director of the Council for Diversity Affairs.

Following the inauguration, Young — who served as vice president alongside Mason Foley this year — shared some remarks as she embarks on a new leadership role.

“We can see the success of this past year reflected through the elections process. My freshman year, the voting total was 4,961 students,” she said. “This year — just two years later — it nearly doubled to well over 8,000 voters. People now talk about the brand of CUSG. We are a champion for the student voice.”

Six awards were presented while members enjoyed a catered meal courtesy of Aramark. Gundana was among multiple presenters that also included Foley as well as Undergraduate Senate President Christian Jones.

“The individuals we are recognizing have gone above and beyond the call of duty within their respective branches of CUSG and have really made an impact on this organization as a whole,” Gundana said.

Senate Committee Chair of the Year
Mason Hammond, senior (Health and Human Services committee)

Senate Committee Vice Chair of the Year
Hunter Bond, junior (University Services committee) 

Senator of the Year
Matthew Phillips, senior

Freshman Council Member of the Year
Sage Bessert

Cabinet Member of the Year
Aunay Miller, senior

CUSG Member of the Year
Ashley McMullen, senior

Click HERE to see more images from the event.

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.