Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business

Students’ achievements recognized at virtual awards ceremony


Students in the Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business didn’t let the events of the past year hinder their achievements. For their accomplishments inside and outside the classroom, Clemson University’s best and brightest business students were recently recognized in a virtual Honors and Awards Ceremony.

“These award recipients should be commended for excelling in the throes of the past year’s extraordinary events,” said Wendy York, dean of the Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business. “Their ability to adapt and achieve during these uncertain times is testament to their resiliency. Having accomplished what they did is something they can learn from, knowing they can overcome adversity and succeed similarly in their careers.”

Peggy Williamson

Peggy Williamson of Huntington, N.Y., received one of the college’s most prestigious honors as recipient of the Wallace Dabney Trevillian Merit Award. The award, presented annually, is given in honor of the late Wallace D. Trevillian, dean emeritus of the business school. A senior with one of the highest scholastic records in the college is selected based on their outstanding character and leadership involvement in student organizations.

Peggy was heavily involved as a leader in student organizations during her time at Clemson. She served as senior chair on the Marketing Student Advisory Board, marketing chair on the College’s Student Advisory Board, and as the vice president of Scholarships and Awards for   Delta Sigma Pi, the professional business fraternity.

“It’s an absolute honor, and I am humbled to have received the Trevillian Award,” said Peggy, a marketing major and management minor. “During my time here and being part of these organizations, I’ve been continually impressed and inspired by my peers in the College. I want to thank everyone at Clemson for making this a very special time in my life.”

Upon graduation in May, Peggy will be employed in Dallas, Texas, by Gartner, the world’s leading research and advisory company.

George Davis of Greenville, S.C., received the James D. “Jay” Westmoreland CFPR ’89 Award for Merit. The award was established by Westmoreland, a Clemson alumni and member of the Department of Finance Advisory Board. A student must demonstrate a commitment to serving the well-being of others, in addition to having a strong academic record.

Receiving the Hugh H. Macaulay Award for Outstanding Graduate Student, was Ward Reesman of Vermillion, S.D.

Macaulay, a life-long leader in economics education at Clemson, endowed a fund for the purpose of recognizing outstanding performance in the graduate program and promise in graduate coursework.

Other college-level awards and the recipients include:

Blue Key Academic and Leadership Award – Nicholas Iseman, Augusta, Ga.

The Dean’s Award for Excellence in Business – Likhita Kavuru, Fort Mill, S.C.

Delta Sigma Pi Chapter Collegian of the Year Award – Jack A. Lillig, Wheaton, Ill.

Delta Sigma Pi Scholastic Key Award – Meredith Franchi, Marietta, Ga.

The Michael Paluzzi Award – Mary Cate Buchert, Libertyville, Ill.

Phi Kappa Phi Certificate of Merit – Justin K. Monge, Edwards, Ill.

Award for Outstanding Senior in the Field of Business – Isabelle H. Boomhower, Franklin Lakes, N.J.

Award for Outstanding Senior in Research – Christopher Breemen, Marlborough, Mass.

For a complete list of college and departmental award winners who demonstrated academic achievement, strong character, leadership skills, community involvement and many more outstanding qualities in the 2020-21 academic year, click here. Or, to view the virtual awards ceremony, click here.

# # #

Want to Discuss?

Get in touch and we will connect you with the author or another expert.

Or email us at news@clemson.edu

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.