OUR Clemson

25 faculty and staff chosen for the 2023 President’s Leadership Institute


The 2023 cohort represents the 8th President’s Leadership Institute (PLI) at Clemson University, and each cohort of the PLI comprises 25 faculty and staff members from across the University who demonstrate exceptional performance in their respective areas.

To be selected, faculty must be nominated by their college dean or by the Provost and staff members must be nominated by their vice presidents or corresponding divisional heads or senior administrators of the non-academic units. A selection committee reviews the nominations for the final cohort.

During the nine-month program, the cohort will meet once a month for an all-day session with meetings taking place at various locations on campus or in Greenville, Charleston or Columbia.

The 2023 President’s Leadership Institute Cohort is comprised of the following faculty and staff members:

Josh Barnes, Student Services Excellence Lead, Institutional Excellence

Tessa Byer, University Ombuds

Kelly Caine, Professor, School of Computing, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences

David Clayton, Assistant Vice President, OCPSI and Executive Director, CU-ICAR

Shamella Cromartie, Associate Dean, Organizational Performance and Inclusion, Clemson Libraries

Monique Everroad, Policy Program Manager, Office of University Compliance and Ethics

Joe Galbraith, Associate Vice President, Strategic Communications for Marketing and Communications

Corrine Grant, Director of Alumni Relations and Development, Division of Inclusive Excellence

Kristen Lawson, Director of Strategic Initiative, Finance and Operations

Dan Lewis, Director of Digital Accessibility, CCIT

Renee Lyons, Director, Science Outreach Center

Michael McManus, District Extension Director, Pee Dee

Nathan McNeese, Associate Professor, School of Computing, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences

Michael Neault, Director of Livestock Poultry Health and State Veterinarian

Brandy Page, Executive Director of Development, Parent Philanthropy, Student Affairs and University Wide Initiatives

Lior Rennert, Associate Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences and Director, Clemson Center for Public Health Modeling and Response

Donna Roberston, Senior Director of Institutional Excellence, Strategic Execution

Kaifa Roland, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Director of Global Black Studies

Amanda Rumsey, Associate Professor, Department of Education and Human Development, College of Education

Jose Sagarnaga, Clinical Assistant Professor and General Management Area Coordinator, Department of Management, Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business

Jasmine Townsend, Associate Professor and Fellow, Robert H. Brooks Sports Science Institute and PRTM and Director, Clemson Adaptive Sports and Recreation

Erica Walters, Program Manager, ClemsonLIFE

Danny Weathers, Professor, Department of Marketing, Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business

Daniel Whitehead, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry

Kevin White, Deputy Director of Athletics