OUR Clemson; Student Affairs

Student Affairs announces 2022 Staff Excellence Award winners


Mandy Hays, Shawn Jones and Chris Miller
Shawn Jones was a recipient of a 2022 Student Affairs staff excellence award, and is pictured with Assistant Vice President for Campus Life Mandy Hays and Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Chris Miller.
Download image

Staff from the Division of Student Affairs celebrated 2022 inside Hendrix Student Center during its annual Winter Social on Wednesday. Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Chris Miller led a short breakfast program that included recognition of staff excellence award winners.

“It has been a gratifying year on many levels, especially as we’ve seen our students fully enjoying meaningful out-of-classroom experiences again,” Miller said. “Our staff has played a critical role in creating and supporting these experiences. I could not be prouder of our collective efforts over the past year. Congratulations to the very deserving individuals and teams who were honored with staff excellence awards. The Division of Student Affairs is certainly better because of their hard work.”

Four individuals were recognized in accordance with the division’s core themes: health, safety and wellness; student learning; inclusive excellence; and staff experience.

Mary Stuart Turner received the individual award for health, safety and wellness. She serves as laboratory supervisor for Student Health Services and recently celebrated 20 years of service to Clemson. The Redfern Health Center lab is accredited by the Commission on Office Laboratory Accreditation (COLA) and this past year Turner’s team reported zero health violations.

Shawn Jones was honored in the core theme of student learning. He serves as associate director of reservation services for Campus Reservations and Events. Jones leads the student hub located on the second floor of Hendrix Student Center. He hires and leads student assistants and teaches all aspects of the reservation process, including software management and client communication.

Matthew Boudreaux earned the division’s individual award for inclusive excellence. He serves as assistant director for Orientation programs within the Center for Student Leadership and Engagement. In his role, Boudreaux is responsible for the recruitment, selection and training of Orientation Ambassadors who assist new students and families through virtual orientation and Ready, Set, Roar! He also coordinates Welcome Week each August.

Lynn Tumblin was the individual award winner in the core theme of staff experience. She has served as administrative assistant for the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life (FSL) since 2015. In her role, Tumblin helps hire, train and supervise work-study students who assist Quad residents, FSL members and office guests. She also maintains FSL’s grade reports and fee records.

Redfern Health Center’s nursing staff was named Team of the Year. Part of the Medical Services division of Student Health Services, the staff provides high-quality care reflected through reaccreditation from The Joint Commission. The nursing staff has managed COVID for the past two and a half years, while also addressing annual flu surges, daily immunizations and other clinics.

Chris Miller earned the third annual Student Affairs Partnership Award. He serves as strategic operations manager for University Facilities. In his role, he collaborates with Student Affairs staff by coordinating special event work orders. He also serves on the Special Events Review Board and is the liaison to the annual Homecoming build on Bowman Field.

Jermaine Johnson was presented with the Student Affairs Inspiration Award. A member of the Office of General Counsel, Johnson provides staff with legal consultation, risk identification and judicial interpretation. He advises division leadership on Freedom of Information Act, Student Code of Conduct, contracts and more.